Interview with Octo pi

Ahead of Octo pi’s guest mix on our radio show on brap.fm tonight we dropped in on the man himself and asked a few questions about what has been a big year for him in 2011 and what we can expect from 2012!

Q1. So you’ve supported some of the biggest acts on the scene right now with sets alongside the likes of Andy C, Sub Focus, Friction and London Electricity. Out of all the big name acts you’ve played with is there one that stands out and why?

That’s a tough one, it’s always amazing to play alongside Andy C of course, especially getting to follow him at this years Nozstock Festival, but a particlar favourite moment was standing with High Contrast about to go on a few years ago, and him dropping his last tune of the night – Scribble, which he did with Underworld, we both got so into it, that I almost forgot I was about to play.

Q2. What’s your favourite piece of kit in your studio set up and why?

It has to be my new KRK Rokit RP8’s, they just sound amazing for the price. And I suppose Native Instruments Massive, not strictly kit, but definitely one of the most prominent pieces of  software in my setup as a producer, along with my vast collection of drum samples i’ve accrued over the years, love it!!

Q3. You’ve been working with Nozstock Festival for a few years now, what do you do for them and how long have you been involved?

Nozstock’s one of the best things in my life really, i’ve been doing it for over 10 years now, I manage The Cubicles which is the Drum & Bass/Dubstep arena, so each year I get to see and deal with the best DJ’s on the planet, and obviously it’s had a huge impact on getting my name and my tunes out there. It’s by far the best festival around, and that’s not me being biased, it’s just true!

Q4. What have you got coming up in the New Year, what releases can we expect from Octo Pi?

I’ll have a new EP coming out early 2012, one of the tracks from it is featured on the mix, it’s called Trust Me. There’s a few collaborations planned too, just watch this space!

Q5. Who is your top tip for 2012? Not including yourself obviously!

I’ve been working with Dr Meaker from Bristol, and although they’ve been around for a while, I think they’ll have a great 2012, Clive’s a great producer with some wicked ideas. And of course, there’s a lot of my Global Domination Digital label mates like label boss – Delayed Reaction aka The Grandad (one of the hardest working people around!), Jungle Jeff, Alter Ego, E.Lectric etc.

Q6. What can we expect from your guest mix for Subsize on brap.fm tonight?

The mix is to showcase my tunes I guess, past releases and forthcoming, and i’ve thrown a few of my favourite tracks in for good measure, I just really like mixing them. Hope you enjoy!

So tune into brap.fm tonight 10pm – 12midnight for a Subsized helping of BASS courtesy of Octo pi and regular host Tenz!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

